South Africa to remain at adjusted alert level three

Duty of Care Checklist

South Africa to remain at adjusted alert level three

Tuesday, January 12, 2020

The latest speech made by President Ramaphosa can be found HERE

South Africa will remain at adjusted alert level three until further notice.

The majority of restrictions as mentioned during President Ramaphosa's speech on 28 December 2020 remain in place,with a change to curfew hours which are now 9 pm to 5 am.

  • Most indoor and outdoor gatherings will not be permitted. This includes social gatherings, religious gatherings, political events and gatherings at sports grounds. Exceptions have been detailed in the updated regulations which can be found HERE
  • The nationwide curfew will be in place between 9 pm and 5 am.
  • It is compulsory for every person to wear a mask in a public place. 
  • The sale of alcohol from retail outlets and on-site consumption of alcohol will not be permitted. 
  • The consumption of alcohol in public spaces such as parks and beaches remains prohibited.
  • All beaches, dams, lakes, rivers, public parks and public swimming pools in hotspots remain closed. 

The 20 land ports of entry currently open, will be closed until 15 February 2021.These include Beitbridge, Lebombo, Maseru Bridge, Oshoek, Ficksburg and Kopfontein. Entry and departure through these ports of entry will be permitted for the following reasons:

  • The transportation of fuel, cargo and goods,
  • Emergency medical attention for a life-threatening condition,
  • The return of South African nationals, permanent residents or persons with other valid visas,
  • Diplomats,
  • The departure of foreign nationals,
  • Daily commuters from neighbouring countries who attend school in South Africa.

Previously mentioned hotspots are detailed as follows; 

  • Eastern Cape - Chris Hani District, Buffalo City, Amathole District, Alfred Nzo District, OR Tambo District, Nelson Mandela Bay Metro and the Sarah Baartman District.
  • Kwazulu Natal - eThekwini, Umgungundlovu District, Ugu District, Harry Gwala District, King Cetshwayo District and Ilembe District.
  • Gauteng - West Rand District, Tshwane, Ekurhuleni and Johannesburg.
  • Western Cape - West Coast District, Overberg District, Winelands District, Cape Town, Central Karoo District and the Garden Route District.
  • North West Province - Bojanala District.
  • Limpopo Province - Waterberg District, Capricorn District

Those living in hotspot districts are encouraged to minimise their travel within the district to essential travel only. Travel to hotspot districts should be avoided if possible.

South Africans are permitted to travel freely internationally as mentioned during the ministerial brief on 30 September, however will be required to check the entry requirements of the country they wish to travel to. With the emergence of the Covid-19 variant, some countries have decided to restrict entry from South Africa for a period of time. There are still many entry restrictions and border closures that remain in effect globally. Any returning South African citizens and residents will be subject to entry regulations and protocols and may be required to enter quarantine.

Travellers entering South Africa will need to produce a negative PCR test, to be presented on arrival and not older than 72 hours from the date of departure from the country of origin.

- A person entering the Republic must be subjected to screening on arrival at the point of entry, including the completion of a traveller health questionnaire which can be found HERE. 

- A person who, during screening, is found to have had exposure to COVID-19 or is presenting with any signs and symptoms of COVID-19, must be subjected to a medical examination which may include testing and isolation. 

- A person entering the Republic must on arrival at the point of entry, provide to the port health official the following; A completed Traveller Health Questionnaire; and a valid negative COVID-19 PCR test result, not older than 72 hours from the date of departure from the country of origin.

- A person who is not in possession of a valid negative COVID-19 PCR rest will be subject to antigen testing at the point of entry and may be subject to quarantine at an approved facility at his or her own cost.

Should you have any questions, please contact your dedicated Travel Expert or contact us HERE

Further information related to COVID-19 and risk-adjusted strategies for South Africa can be found HERE

Please visit our Travel News website HERE for the latest traveller updates and news.